The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

My People

I had this spectacular weekend hanging out with a group of people who have known me since high school. For those of you that don’t know me, I’ll be 35 this year, so that means these are 20 year friendships. I live the farthest away in this group of friends and only get to see them about twice a year, so I cherish these get togethers.  Some people find it strange that a group would maintain friendships that were forged in high school, like we’re living in the past or something. I’ve been told that life moves on and you have to just let these old friendships go and you’ll find new ones. Well, I have tried for years to find friends like I have in this group and have failed. For awhile I thought it was because I was putting them up on some friend pedastal that simply made it unattainable for others to reach.  Don’t misunderstand me, I have other friends, but it’s just not the same connection.  I have never felt the simple natural comfort around any other women than I do with these ladies.  I finally came to the realization that they are my people. I will not replicate those friendships with anyone else and that’s ok. I’ve been given the gift of these relationships and that is more than I deserve on some days.

So, I left my spectacular weekend with my husband and kids and slowly my attitude plummeted. I sunk myself into this mini-depression that I wasn’t expecting. I didn’t want to work out, didn’t want to return to my life today, I wanted to go back to my camping weekend and just keep the good times going.

The problem with that was the Holy Spirit butting heads with me all day trying to get me to put my head up and appreciate the life I have. He wanted me to stop focusing on what I wanted and just look around at what I have, appreciate the time I have with who I have it with and when I have it. So, I finally listened. My kids were already in bed and my husband was heading there shortly, so with his support, I headed to the gym to workout. I didn’t really want to, but I really needed to. I had eaten junk food (and a lot of it) on my fun weekend and had not worked out at all (except for a game of kickball). So, at the gym I did a mile swim and then a leg workout and I had such a smile on my face after it was all done.

My fit-mom-life has 3 components (faith, family and fitness).  I had maximized my family time this weekend, but I had not had any fitness time and didn’t take my bible, so had slacked on my daily God time too. I needed to get back in balance and at the end of the day, I finally have. What a relief! Discovering what makes you be your best is transformational. I wasted a lot time today not benefiting myself or those around me and I don’t have time to waste. My life is a but a mist in God’s timeline, so I can’t waste a minute of it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

