The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

Organic…AHHHHHHH

Let me start by saying I am such a novice in this whole ‘healthy, organic, free range’ eating. Right now, my family doesn’t eat an all organic diet. We don’t have a garden, or chicken, or make our own detergent. However, the more I get into fitness, the more aware I am of what food/drink I put into my body. I am becoming one of those people. That’s right, I’m a label reader. I now check food labels and no longer buy based on cost alone, but based on the number of ingredients on the label.  I want the fewest ingredients and need to be able to prounounce all of them without the use of google.  Believe me when I say, I NEVER thought I would buy organic and care about labels, but it has happened. I’ve turned into one of those people that I use to mock (yeah I was chuckin stones from my glass house).  It’s difficult to cut out processed foods.  They taste pretty good and they are cheap. Buying organic/natural (aka healthy) is more work and more money. However, when you consider that 60+% of our population is either overweight or obese and billions of dollars go to maintaining that lifestyle, it’s worth the cost. I don’t do it for the cost, or to save my government healthcare dollars though. As I have said before, my weight/lifestyle was a barrier between me and God and it had to go. It was something that distracted me from being able to serve and worship Him in my full capacity.

So, as I started this post, I’m still quite the novice, my pantry is still making the shift to healthier foods. One thing I’ve learned with fitness though is that it doesn’t happen overnight. My eating behaviors are things I have honed over the past 34 years, so it’s going to take more than a week or two to change out the pantry.  But, you will find things like coconut oil, oats, organic garbanzo beans, agave nectar and lots of honey (for you sweet tooth eaters out there, honey becomes the new sugar in most of your recipes).  I’ve found healthy eating to be like going to college for a whole new career that you know nothing about. I am working to learn what it means to eat healthy, what foods are really packed with nutrients and what foods are a waste of calories. I have googled my brains out on healthy eating and read blog after blog written mostly by moms. (An interesting side note, many of the sites I find new recipes on happen to be written by stay at home moms, who homeschool their kids and are followers of Jesus Christ.)

Initially, I wanted to just drop some weight and feel a little better about myself, but as I’ve progressed, it’s become much larger. I have felt SO much better, physically and emotionally and now I want everyone to jump on this bandwagon and find this same happiness.  You don’t have rush out and make your own chicken coop just yet though. Start with some minor food changes and work your way towards the larger ones. The minor ones were eating primarily lean protein (fish, chicken, ground turkey) and lots of fruits/veggies (our favs are watermelon, strawberries, bananas, blueberries, avocado, tomato, bell peppers, broccoli).  FYI, I have nothing against red meat, our family just doesn’t happen to like it much.

Here’s a great little recipe I trialed on the family (and a couple SpringHill Camp staffers that are staying with us for the week)…

Lime/Cilantro Chicken (per myrecipes.com)

4 boneless chicken breasts

1/4 cup lime juice (I used 2 limes and 1 lemon because I was short on limes)

1/2 bunch chopped, fresh cilantro

5-6 garlic cloves, diced

1 Tbsp honey

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Mix together the lime juice, cilantro, garlic, honey, olive oil and place chicken in this mixture and let marinate.

I’d let it sit in there at least 20-30 mins in the fridge.

Then you can cook the chicken on the stove top or grill. I do salt/pepper the chicken once removed from the marinade.

It got rave reviews from the table, so give it a whirl!! We had a chickpea salad and watermelon to go along with this meal.  I’d like to one day get to the point where I’m making up my own meal creations and not just using ones found via Pinterest, but this life is a marathon, not a sprint, so I’ll get there.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Organic…AHHHHHHH

  1. Sara Wingate on said:

    Well I’m following! Yay you’re writing a blog!

Leave a Reply

