The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

Week 8 and 9 Ironman and Post-Ironman

Jason complete Ironman Louisville last Sunday 8/26/12. Last week felt like a blur, I’m not even sure where it went. We took our show on the road last Friday and headed to Louisville. The 3 kids (and dog and cat) were left in the caring hands of their grandma as hubs and I headed south. It was a mini-vacation for us to reconnect as a couple since we were kidless. We ate out, walked hand in hand and got to talk without interruption. It was wonderful, however the real purpose was the Ironman. Hubs has been training for this since January, he put so much time and effort into this and I was excited to cheer him on. The above pic was taken after he finished and got some food. Immediately after he finished I couldnt’ get him to raise his handsome face to look at me. His nutrition didn’t go well on the run, so he was pretty drained. Drained enough that he sat down in the middle of the road just outside the finish chute. It was an area that was blocked to traffic, but I’m not sure traffic would’ve stopped him from sitting at that moment. The man just worked out for 12 hrs and 45 minutes and he was done. He can now say he is an Ironman, 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run = 140.6 miles. Wow right?!?

The group of athletes at an Ironman is amazing. I’ve never been around more healthy, lean, fit people (men and women) in all my life. You are a bit in awe of how healthy everyone looks and then it quickly makes you realize that this is actually what the world should look like. We get so used to seeing the world as it is, that you can miss seeing it as it should be.  It’s dangerous to get accustomed to our surroundings. You’ll lack an incentive to change when you just begin to accept things as they are. Anyway, lets just say I was inspired and I recommend if you get the chance to attend an Ironman race.

I took the above picture of hubs and his group of friends as they were saying a prayer before the race started. We woke up at 3:30am race morning and headed to Einstein Bagels for some breakfast. After breakfast, we went back to the hotel to make sure he had everything ready, got any final bags, changed and headed to the bike transition. He got in line for the swim and we were about a mile deep in the line. It was around 5am and the guys were listening to music, talking, and just trying to manage the race nerves. I was there like an eager assistant, ready and waiting for him to hand me any last items to carry. I looked up at one point in the morning and saw this wonderful view. Hubs leading his friends in prayer. Does it get any better than that?  I didn’t think so, at least until I got caught up on Facebook…

I used Facebook to post pictures and update friends/family as to how he was doing throughout race day. It was fun to be able to update a pic to let everyone know where he was, how well he was doing and how much more he had to go.  What was really touching though was reading everyone’s comments. I had a network of friends and family that watched Ironman Live, tracked him online and prayed for him throughout the day. It was powerful to see the care, support and prayer given to him. I felt the love thy neighbor in a whole new way and realized the blessing I have in the friends placed in my life at this time.

I was able to get my long run in at IM LV, ran 15 miles on Saturday (was joined by 2 friends for most of that). Altered the schedule a bit this week as we didn’t get back in town until Monday. I had some good runs, slow runs, walk runs, fast runs…let’s just say I was all over the place. But the training continues! I’m starting week 10 on Monday, 2 months til race day!!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

