The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

Week 10 and 11…bored yet?

Well, I’ve discovered something about myself on this journey to my first marathon. I get bored easily. I’ve just started week 12 of my 18 week training program and I’m kinda done with it. I’m just ready to start the taper and do the big race. Now, do I mean I’m physically ready to run 26.2 miles, as in I don’t need to continue to train my legs that they can withstand that distance, um, no. I mean 18 weeks feels like a long time to reach just one goal. I think I’m more of an 8-10 week training program kinda girl. I did have 2 standout runs and they both occurred last week.  I’ve swayed off the official schedule a couple times, added an extra rest day and skipped the cross training day. As I’ve said, I’ve gotten bored and a little tired and just didn’t want to go to the gym. On the upside, I spent that time with my family so it was still productive. My 2 standout runs came after I had back to back rest days, coincidence…I think not. I did a 5 mile run last Tuesday (after resting Sun/Mon) and pulled an 8:35 average, with (here’s the awesome part, are you ready?!?) my last mile was a 7:58! I broke 8 minutes, YEAH, and I broke it in the 5th mile, DOUBLE YEAH.

The other decent run was the 18 miles I did on Saturday. My long runs have been all over the place in terms of pace and how I feel (both mentally and physically). I was able to run a 9:21 average pace for 18 miles and my slowest mile was 9:40 (which also happened to be the mile I ate my power gel, I tend to slow a bit on my nutrition miles).  I didn’t stop (except for traffic) and felt good for most of the run. My knees held up, my gut stayed steady and my head stayed focused and determined. I felt like I earned the right to look like a fool sporting my bright pink recovery socks. I’ve also been spending my long runs listening to Andy Stanley Podcasts. I’ve found that music alone doesn’t get me through 2+ hours of running, so I switched to podcasts and wow, what a difference.

Over a month ago, I also started a new bible study called The Hello Mornings (Fall) Challenge. It’s a 13 week bible study that meets via Twitter and was introduced to me by a new friend I had met while on the Discipleship Walk this past spring with my church. Of note, she is also the same friend that ran a marathon in June and inspired me to start my own training (shout out to my friend Aubs, www.thebarelafamily.com). The goal of the study is to wake up before your kids (instead of to your kids), dig into the word (we’re studying 1 Peter), and exercise. I had started waking up early (6am ish) and having my quiet time to read the bible and pray before I joined this group. It is my devotional, quiet time and it is priceless to me. My kids don’t wake up until around 7am, so I can get 1-2 hours alone (depending on how early I want to rise). Starting my day alone has been something I was missing and didn’t even know it until I started it. If you wake up to those little darling fingers tapping you, I challenge you to wake up earlier. I’m a better mom now as I don’t have to wake up and immediately start serving them. Instead, I get some alone time with God, alone time with myself and then when they come downstairs, I have a smile to greet them and tender words to speak. The group has been great as it’s a community of women that are also up early, encouraging each other with the word, praying over each other. It’s been a great way to dig into the word, hear insight from other women about the same words being read and meet new friends.

In other news on the household front, since the Ironman is over, I have my handyman back (aka the hubs has free time)! I had some ideas (painting the back door, an accent wall with a shelf in Mia’s room, new curtain rod in kids bath, paint the bannister, the list goes on and on….). He is halfway through with Mia’s bedroom make-over and I love it! He built an accent wall that has a shelf running across the entire room, we got a new light fixture to hang, new paint to finish and the boys each did a canvas painting for her room. I can’t wait to put it all together and post some pictures. Jason and I tend to decorate to a certain point and then just wish for our next house to have more character. We finally agreed that we need to just make this house exactly how we want it to be (character and all), instead of wishing for the next bigger, better thing. This means I’ve been spending a little extra time on Pinterest as it is my idea center for redecorating, just love that site!

Training week 10 review

Monday: 4 miles in 35:42

Tuesday: 8 miles in 1:13:16

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 4 miles in 36:02

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 15 miles 1:05:11 (9:47 pace)

Sunday: Rest

 

Training week 11 review

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 5 miles in 42:51

Wednesday: 5 miles 44:30

Thursday: Rest

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 18 miles in 2:48:05 (9:21 pace WOO HOO)

Sunday: Rest

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

