The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

Being a stranger is a priority

Wednesdays are my day off and very close to being my favorite day of the week. I think most working moms have to cram in laundry, grocery shopping, meal planning, quality time with family and a load of other to-do’s on the weekends because it’s the only time they have off duty (from a paid position). I work from home and have since before my kids arrived, so I don’t know what it’s like to make that balance of being outside the home. I have the convenience of being an RN case manager for an insurance company, so I have a home office in our 4th bedroom. My drive to work is instead a walk of about 10 ft from my bedroom. My packed lunch is whatever I have in the fridge any given day. During my ‘coffee breaks’ (or to some people smoke breaks..PS. STOP SMOKING NOW), I can chat with my husband, kids, do a little laundry, take a walk around my neighborhood, vacuum, dust, etc..

I am blessed to have this work at home position as it has allowed my husband to explore different career paths without the pressure of being the sole provider. He’s furthered his education, been a staff nurse, and worked various nursing management positions. He started his toughest job almost 2 years ago, stay at home dad. Our situation is unique with him being home and me also being home (though working during the day). Until our neighbors get to know us, I’m pretty sure they are baffled at how/why we are both home during the day and yet don’t have a foreclosure sign on our home. Hubs left a well paying job because it didn’t offer a good balance of work/life. I frequently find myself thanking him for giving up that well paying job. It’s so odd to look at our bank account and imagine what it could be and be thankful instead for what it is. Most families have to adapt to a career, hubs instead said we could not conform to that job. He has seen our daughter take her first steps, learn her first word and bust her lip for the first time. These are all milestones that he missed with our boys as he was working. He loves that he knows their schedule, he knows what snacks/drinks are the favorites and who their friends are. We live a strange life by American standards and boy am I thankful! We (followers of Christ) are called strangers in this world. In 1 Peter 2:11-12 Peter says, “Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles, to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul. Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.”  We are set apart, sanctified, and due to that there should be a notable difference in how my life compares to that of a non believer. If my lifestyle matches all those around me, then what has set me apart? What was His sacrifice for?

I’m trying to get my kids to not focus on what they want to do when they grow up, but who they want to be. A big mistake in our culture is to be defined by your paid position. I am a nurse, that is what I do to earn money to have food for our family, a home to live in, and clothes to wear. I try not confuse what I do for my job with who I am or what I am to my family. So many parents think they are working for their families, to be able to provide, take that next trip, buy that next big wish list item. Or, they are working for themselves, they need the satisfaction that is obtained in their career, climbing the ladder, more money, accolades and all. Whatever the reason, I wish people would just remember that they are replaceable in their career. There have been many amazing, talented people that have great success in their career, but when they left that position or left this earth, they were replaced. That company moved on without them. That’s this life. I would challenge people to focus on the areas where they aren’t replaceable. I am the only daughter my parents have, I am the only mom to my 3 kids, I am the best friend and partner to my husband. Their worlds would be shaken if I wasn’t here, my job wouldn’t.

I want my kids to know they take priority over my career. I want my spouse to know he takes priority over my kids. I want God to know He takes priority over it all. I pray my priorities and yours align with God’s.  Happy Wednesday!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

