The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

Endurance Athlete

So I took a run in the rain this past week and Jason took my picture as I returned. I didn’t realize how hard it was raining until I was inside looking out. It was a beautiful run though. No wind, the temperature wasn’t too cold, and I felt God with me more on that run than I had in a long time. I was really able to soak up this world He created and that rain run was one of my favorites.

Here I am in the middle of week 15 of my 18 week training to my first marathon and all is going fairly well. I’m definitely burnt out, boredom has set in and I’m ready to move on to the next fitness goal. Problem being, I haven’t met this one yet…minor technicality. I’m running 3 days a week and have returned to the gym 2 days a week. I have my longest training run this weekend…20 miles. Fortunately, I have a friend that volunteered to do part of it with me, so I’ll be picking her up at the 10 mile mark. That will be tremendously helpful to have some company for the second 10 miles.

On the injury front, my IT band has been aching a bit. I can’t really get too mad at it though. I’ve failed to stretch properly and asked my legs to run increased distance and speed for the past 15 weeks, so it’s not really the ITB’s fault. Plus, I didn’t really even know about its existence until it started hurting (yes I didn’t pay enough attention in anatomy). In addition to that hip pain, I’ve had some additional muscle owies (please excuse the grown up medical terminology) for which I’ve been googling ‘thigh muscles,’ so I can figure out which one is hurt and what to do to start healing. (Yes, I really didn’t pay enough attention in anatomy!) They are certainly nothing that will keep me from running the marathon, but will need to be cautious so I don’t put myself out of commission. Resting for 2-6 weeks in running is basically saying, ‘hey, lets start all over again.’

Jason has completed his month of rest after the Ironman, he didn’t really plan to rest a month, it was more just what he realized he wanted/needed after. He’s excited to watch the big IM (Kona) this Saturday via the internet. He’s also trying to talk me into doing a full Ironman next year…lets just say that’s not on my radar. But I do love that man and will at least consider it because I know he would love it.

People often set fitness goals…ie a 5K, Sprint Triathlon, Marathon, etc… My goal is to be an endurance athlete. The definition of endurance: the ability of an organism to exert itself and remain active for a long period of time. So, that’s my goal. I want to be able to run this marathon in 3 weeks, however more than that, I want to be able to be running in 30 years. The marathon is just a drop in the bucket of endurance training. I want to maintain fitness for life and, God willing, my life will last at least another 30 years.

Alright, have to get back to my Wednesday. Mia is awake and kicking her crib like it’s her j-o-b. On a side note, that’s where we got her name from, her kicking. When I was über pregnant, she was kicking a lot and Jason and I were watching this life inside me rock my stomach like an earthquake. I called her Mia Hamm because of her mad kicking skills and the name Mia was then on our list of names and soon made its way to the top.

Happy Wednesday all!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

