The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

Thankfull for forgiveness

It is the fourth Thursday in November, it is Thanksgiving 2012. The boys are upstairs playing legos, Mia is napping, Jason is working out, and here I sit thinking about what I am most thankful for. Our family will be heading to my aunt’s house in Muncie in a few hours to spend the day with my family. There will be eating, laughter, hopefully a walk in this gorgeous weather, more eating, and lots of talking.

I have a list that is never-ending of the things I am thankful for. So how is it then that I found myself having a fit over my daughter’s fit this morning. There she is crying and making this nonstop whining sound that we cannot get to stop and there I was griping about her incessant whining to the point I not so lovingly carried her upstairs, put her in bed and demanded she take a nap. How can I go from being super mom with kindness and love and patience to this person that I wouldn’t allow to babysit my kids?!? I honestly didn’t think she was tired nor needed a nap, but the only way to get a time out from a 17 month old is to put her in her crib. I thought she’d sit in there a couple minutes with her paci and blankie, find her happy place and then I’d get her back out. Well, to my surprise, she’s snoozing. She was crying/fussy/whining because she wanted to go to sleep. Or maybe, after my hissy fit, she preferred the quietness of her room over being with me. Either way, it brought me to remember what I am most thankful for…forgiveness.

I will be forgiven for my fit I threw this morning because of a sinless God that died on a cross for me. He knew I wasn’t strong enough, He knew I would fail, He knew the only thing that made me worthy of forgiveness was Him. 1 Thessalonians 4:16-18,Be joyful always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.’ I failed on all 3 counts of this scripture this morning.I was not joyful, I was angry. I did not pray, I griped. I was not thankful, I complained. I needed a grown up time out this morning. I needed quiet time to reflect on my behavior, apologize to my Father for my actions and ask for forgiveness. He forgives me, so freely, so easily.

One of my favorite songs lately is ‘One Thing Remains’, by Kristian Stanfill. Beyond thankful that His love never fails it never gives up it never runs out on me.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

