The Fit Mom Life

Learning to live a life filled with FAITH, FAMILY, AND FITNESS

Week 2, what’s my goal?

Week 2 is almost in the books. Here are the consequences (good and bad) of training for this tri.

1. Every shower smells like chlorine. Whether I’ve swam on that day or not, as soon as water hits my hair, the smell of chlorine fills the shower.

2. I fell asleep in the car on the way home on date night. It was past 10pm and that’s my time to go ni-night. Sorry babe!

3. My laundry has increased. I do 2 loads of laundry every day (except Sunday), that seems like a lot for a family of 5, maybe not though…

4. My bible study time has suffered as it seems the kids are up a little earlier and hubs is now up early, so my quiet time is not so quiet.

5. I’ve met a lot of new people. Triathletes are kinds like parrotheads, they are their own interesting breed of people.

6. I’m eating a lot (especially on swim days) and don’t seem to be gaining weight, this is both good and bad.

I continue to battle the clock (not as in my speed during a workout, but as in finding time to complete the workout). I’ve gotten into a decent routine of waking up at 4:30 on Tu-Fr. This allows me to get to be the gym and be working out at 5am. After a bike or swim/run combo, I’m then able to get back home by 6:30-6:45 to do my bible study and chat with hubs before he leaves for work. I’m also squeezing in some crossfit 2-3 days/week as my strength training and that typically takes place in the evenings on Tu/Th/Su. I’m going to change this up a bit, as I’m going to move my long run/swim from Sunday to Monday. I’m missing too much family time on Sunday and could instead trade that out and get that workout done on Monday morning when the fam is still in bed. This will cause me to have to shorten the run a bit, but until the weather is warmer and I venture outside for a 6am job, this will have to do.

Yes it sounds like a lot and yes it kinda is. I was talking with hubs (ok, let’s call it what it was, i was griping) about not feeling like I was going to get all I could out of this since I’m not completing each workout in its entirety. His response, ‘well, what’s your goal? You said before it was just to finish.’ He spoke kindly and with patience, as he always does, and reminded me that I’m not here to win this thing. I took on this venture as a way to challenge myself and keep my workouts interesting. This week I started to let it get stressful and that is so not the point! I let it bother me that I didn’t complete the full workout (ie I dropped a portion of the swim or 10 mins off a run). I was overly concerned with how that would affect my performance race day. That over concern was taking the joy out of this process. I can train to finish in 5 hours (insert laughter here), or I can train to finish. In this season of my life, I’ve got a lot going on. And the things I choose to do should not give me stress, but joy. There will be plenty of things given to me in this life to stress me out, but this 1/2 IM will not be one of them. At least that’s what I’m going to keep telling myself over the next 18 weeks…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

